One Beautiful Girl

Sometimes young girls allow their insecurities to take over and lose their confidence in this world, by creating an attention-seeking mirage that not only pushes them to lessen their value towards others but lesson their worth even to themselves as well.

This is a highlight to all the beautifully-talented-young women who carry with them the belief that they are indeed beautiful and confident. These young ladies are culturally exposed and hold high accomplishments in either academics, extra-curricular activities, community involvement, disposition and or mannerism! They are chosen based off their ability to RISE against the expectations set by society for young minority females.

My goal is to spotlight these young women and share their attributes with other young ladies with the hope that other girls will become inspired and gravitate towards the truth that they too are beautiful, and the sky is truly the limit so why not fly!

These young ladies fly with their own wings to places unknown by most!

image (10)

So this month’s Beautiful Girl goes to Kiamya Philson! Here is my interview with Her.

What do you do to stay busy?
–In order to stay busy I participate in basketball and softball when the sports are in season and after school orchestras during those specific seasons. Other than those activities my schoolwork keeps me occupied, but when I have the occasional downtime I like to read to pass the time.

image (16)

Who is your inspiration and why?
–My inspiration would have to be my mom. I aim to be as well rounded and balanced in life as my mom. She’s such a hardworking and resilient woman, but she’s does this while being relaxed and confident in herself. She could easily be described as the life of the party wherever she goes, and it seems as if she makes a positive impact on everyone that she comes in contact with. I believe that she has instilled these qualities in me as I’ve watched over my lifetime. She is the reason that I have the determination and focus that I have and I am truly grateful for that. She is my biggest motivator and is always there to remind me that she loves me no matter what, especially in times where I didn’t think I did well enough. My mom inspires me to reach my goals in order to repay her for all that she has done throughout my life and to show that I honestly appreciate her.

image

What makes you different from other girls?
–I have a desire to expand my knowledge to a wide range of subjects. I think my love of learning makes me different from other girls. I like being in situations where I can benefit by learning a new fact or skill that I didn’t previously have. I don’t like not knowing something or someone telling me what I can’t do, so I try to learn as much as possible. I feel that you can never learn enough.

What makes you happy?
–It makes me happy when I have time to relax and have a good time with my friends. I have a group of friends that I can rely on and that have been with me for a long time. We have similar goals and work to encourage and motivate each other so that we can see each other succeed in the future. We keep each other on track, but keep things interesting.

image (12)

Are you confident in yourself?
What makes you confident or not?
–I am confident in myself and everything that I do. I know my strengths and weaknesses and this helps me work harder to go further in life. I work to maintain my strengths and improve my weaknesses so that I am the best I can be. I don’t let negative people or negative comments get in the way of what I want to do. I know that there will always be people that doubt you or don’t want you to succeed, and accept that I can’t change that, so the only thing left to do is prove them wrong.

Do you think you are beautiful?
How do you know you are?
–I do think that I’m beautiful, but my beauty is deeper than outward appearances. I have way more to offer than a pretty face. I work to have beautiful actions, beautiful thoughts, and an overall beautiful spirit that is valued by others more than my physical traits.

If you could tell another girl the secret to being confident, how would inspire her? What would you say or do?
–The secret to being confident is knowing your worth and ignoring those that try to keep you down. These people obviously aren’t going to get far in life because the majority of their energy is going into putting others down, and not building themselves up. The key is to not react because that would mean losing focus on the goal, which takes away valuable time that could be spent working to better yourself.

image (6)

What are some of your goals for the next 5 years?
–My major goals that I have for the next 5 years is to graduate high school as one of the top 10 in my class, get accepted and attend one of my top choice colleges and major in neuroscience. I know that these are very high goals, but I also know that I have the capability to reach them, and will do so no matter what obstacles arise.

image (18)

One word that summarizes you?!
–Determined

Thanks!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “One Beautiful Girl”

Leave a Reply

